Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Zune Takes the Day Off

If you have a Microsoft Zune player, it's taking the day off.

zuneThe brilliant programmers at Microsoft forgot about the extra day this year because of leap year. Because there was a February 29 that your Zune didn't know about, it doesn't think there's a December 31 this year.

According to the same brilliant minds at Microsoft, your player will be fine tomorrow.

That distant laughter you hear are the folks at Apple, unable to control themselves.

Update: Stay tuned for details on the class action lawsuit. Should be a slam dunk.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Thought for Today

Never bite when a growl will do.

Monday, December 29, 2008

2008 Year in Review

Was fucked.


Predictions for 2009:

More fucked.

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Hume

Not all assholes are cops, but all cops are assholes!

Santa Gets $110 ticket while giving out toys.

Monday, December 15, 2008

I Kant Feel My Feet

By understanding the sources and limits of human knowledge we can ask fruitful metaphysical questions. If an object can be known to have certain properties prior to the experience of that object. All objects that the mind can think about must conform to its manner of thought. Therefore if the mind can think only in terms of causality (it does) then we can know prior to experiencing them that all objects we experience must either be a cause or an effect. However, it follows from this that it is possible that there are objects of such a nature that the mind cannot think of them, and so the principle of causality, for instance, cannot be applied outside of experience: hence we cannot know, for example, whether the world always existed or if it had a cause. And so the grand questions of speculative metaphysics are off limits, but the sciences are firmly grounded in laws of the mind.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In one of my earlier epistemology classes in college we were learning about Cartesian Doubt. Rene Descartes (famous for "Cogito Ergo Sum" or "I think therefore I am") postulated that because we cannot tell the difference between dreams or hallucinations versus real empirical experience, we cannot trust sensory experience. A student disagreed with the idea that we can't tell the difference between dreams and reality. The professor asked how she can tell if she's dreaming or not, and she replied with "I can feel my feet!"

And I distinctly remember thinking "Great, centuries of philosophy and critical thought down the drain because this chick can feel her fucking feet!"

Friday, December 12, 2008

Cool New Toy

Expect more photos on this blog. I know I've promised this before, but now I have this:
Nikon P6000

Monday, December 08, 2008

Poker Source Full Tilt Poker Freeroll

Poker Source Announcement:

We are extremely pleased to announce a $5,000 freeroll at Full Tilt Poker that is open to everybody who has ever signed up through PokerSource for FTP and has earned at least 300 Full Tilt Points over the lifetime of their account. Players have until midnight on December 20th to earn these points if they have not already done so.

When: Sunday, December 28th at 4:00pm ET
Where: Full Tilt Poker
Prize Pool: $5,000
How to qualify: Have a Full Tilt Poker account that was created through PokerSource and have earned at least 300 Full Tilt Points over the lifetime of their account by December 20th at midnight ET

Saturday, December 06, 2008

Plax

I'm a big fan of firearm ownership. I'm a handgun owner myself. Everyone who wants to be should be a responsible gun owner.

gun safety

There's only two reasons I can think of to carry a handgun into a public place. One is to protect yourself, the other is to protect your stuff.

Plaxico Burress decided to carry an unregistered handgun into a nightclub, so theoretically he wanted to protect himself or protect his stuff. Maybe he was wearing a lot of expensive jewelry, and wanted to protect that stuff.

But I doubt the jewelry or whatever he might be protecting was worth more than the $25 million he's likely to lose from getting caught carrying an unregistered handgun into a New York nightclub. So that reason is pretty illogical.

The second reason, to protect himself might be the reason, except for one thing. HE SHOT HIMSELF. So he didn't exactly keep himself SAFER by carrying the weapon. So that reason seems pretty illogical too.

Wait! I just thought of a third reason. To be perceived as "cool." Well, the entire sports following world is now calling him an idiot, so if that was his intention, it was pretty unsuccessful.

Wednesday, December 03, 2008

Getting Old Sucks

I re-watched the movie "Grosse Pointe Blank" the other day, for the first time in a long time. When it came out I loved it, because it hit me square in the forehead. I graduated high school the same year as the characters in the movie, and also had unrequited love stories and hitman tendencies. This movie was right in my wheelhouse.


The movie, in case you haven't seen it, is about a man who goes to his 10-year high school reunion in Grosse Pointe, which is just outside of Detroit. He tells everyone that he became a hitman, but nobody believes him. There are several people who followed him there to kill him for accidentally performing a hit on a dog.

Just from that, you can tell that the movie is fantastic. It is, but the story is layered with wonderful details and performances that really must be seen. I was hoping to relive all of that wonderfulness when I saw the movie the other morning before I needed to go to work on the night shift.

But the rewatching just depressed me. Twelve years later and all these people who were "just like me" back then are exactly the same. They look good and young, act stupid and charming and pull it off.

Me? I just got older, fatter and far less interesting.

One of the themes in the movie is the old "you can't go home again" (noted especially when the main character discovers that the house he grew up in is now a Ultra-mart convenience store.)

I discovered that not only can't you "go home" again, you can't relive a connection to a movie you once had. Time marches on, but the movies stay young and beautiful forever.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

The Blue Pill

I tried one of the $1.25 Matrix tournaments on Full Tilt Poker. Interesting.

In case you don't know what they are, you pay one buy in and play 4 tournaments against the same set of players. You get points for finishing in the top 3 of each tournament, plus points for knocking out other players and lasting longer than other players. Each tournament has a payout for the top three finishers and the top three points leaders also get a prize.

I immediately noticed the convenience of four tables for a lot of players. If you get bad beaten on one table, BANG you have three more tournaments to GIVE THE GUY SHIT. Many players take advantage of this, but fortunately playing 4 tables at a time makes it tough to type.

Anyway, I finished fourth, third, second and second. Yeah, startlingly good heads up play. When all four tables were down to approx. 4 players, it was pretty maddening. When I lost the first table I had three going with three players at the same time. I can barely think when I'm playing one table, (okay, I can barely think when I'm playing zero tables) so this was quite a challenge. I busted heads up on another so I just had one table of two and another table of three. I lost a race to come in third and got to concentrate on heads up. I built up a 3-1 chip lead there and blew it vs. a guy playing a very straightforward game.

But 4th 3rd 2nd and 2nd plus knockouts was enough points to win first prize in the Matrix pool, which payed the same as taking first at a table.

I think the payout was about $2.30, so minus my $1.25 buy-in, I made a buck-oh-five.

If you do well in these you will always end up with a bunch of tables that are down to a few players, and I don't really like the hectic feeling I get when I'm in that situation. So I probably won't play them again, but it was fun to try out something different.

Monday, November 24, 2008

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Greatest American Farce

A coworker brought in his DVD set of the show "Greatest American Hero." I hadn't seen the show since it originally aired in the 80s. Upon seeing it again we noticed something that made the show totally unbelievable. The guy received a super hero suit from aliens. No problem. But a guy who teaches learning disabled kids getting a chick who's THAT hot and also a lawyer? Not believable.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Gadget Junkie

I've developed a horrible gadget habit. One of my addictions is media players. I took a picture of the media players and storage devices I carry with me every day:

gadget junkie

I carry hundreds of gigs of music and video with me, almost at all times. This doesn't even include the laptop computer and various paperback books that live in that bag.

It started with that little white MP3 player at the bottom left. Then I needed something with more storage, and that one played video. Then I needed something that played video that was more portable. Then I wanted something that played video that had a larger screen.

It's as though I live in constant fear of not being entertained.

If you add this to my LED Flashlight addiction, I might need some kind of 12-step program. I promise to go as soon as I get back from the store looking at those EeePCs. And that 120GB Ipod Touch looks pretty cool, if only Apple products weren't all evil.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

GM Bailout

Yes, I'm a bad blogger. What can I say? A new expansion to World of Warcraft came out last Thursday. So if you wonder what I've been doing? You're correct! Playing SNGs on Full Tilt while I wait on the queues. It still amazes me how upset people get about poor play at a $2 SNG. TWO DOLLARS? Who is playing a $2 tournament and expecting to play vs Barry Greenstein? Jeezus.

Anyway, I've read many a blog about how bailing out the auto industry would be wrong and awful. They all read the same: the companies suck, the management is stupid and hasn't done a thing to improve themselves since the sixties.

Of course I am biased. I don't work for any of the US automotive industries, but I do depend on them for my IT job. If they go under, so do I.

Here's my admittedly biased perspective.

The management knows more about the auto industry than any blogger you read. They are not idiots, it's a tough job. The competition for the auto dollar is unimaginably intense. If you think you could do better within the constraints of the current market, well you're completely wrong.

The bailout isn't like the banking industry bailout, but it is needed for the exact same reason. The auto industry needs loans, not a handout. The banks got CASH. The reason they need it is because credit is FROZEN. There's no money to borrow out there. The auto industry needs working cash to survive until the market picks up and people start buying cars again. According to estimates that will be summer of 09 at the earliest and summer of 2010 at the latest. Since there is no credit to be had, the only thing automakers can do is borrow from the government.

This isn't unprecedented. The government gave the exact same style loans to Chrysler and the loans were paid back. The "bailout" was a big success. Yes Chrysler is in trouble again, but it is because the entire auto industry is in trouble.

Yes I said the ENTIRE INDUSTRY. The Japanese car makers are in trouble too, that's why they have ALREADY received bailouts from the Japanese government. Their auto industry is just as important to their economy as ours.

The comparisons to the US autoworker and foreign autoworkers are unfair. It's always a direct comparison, the UAW worker costs GM X dollars, the Japanese company worker gets much less. But Japan has national health care. GM pays for health care for its workers, so it's an apples and oranges comparison. Yes the US worker still makes a lot more, but the comparison needs to be leveled out a bit.

If you worked in the auto industry you would see that they have taken great leaps to try to become more competitive with automakers around the world. I see them EVERY DAY. Sure I don't agree with some of them, but you have to look at some, such as the turn over of health care to the union, saving GM over 4 billion dollars a year, as steps in the right direction. Even within the unions there are huge changes that make a ton of good sense. Maybe it's too late, but if you say they're not trying you're completely wrong.

Do I think the government should be in the business of bailing out the auto industry? No, not really. But since the government seems to be in the bailout business anyway, I definitely think that an industry that touches 4.5 million working people and over a million retirees should be included. Especially when all they need are loans. The US auto industry is NOT hopeless. There is a lot of money to be made in the industry, and abandoning these companies would be flushing that money down the toilet.

If the big three are forced to liquidate, estimates show that unemployment will be above 30%. With that many people out of work, I'd bet that those economic turn-around estimates would have to be changed from summer of 2010.

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Finally, a Winner

The result we've all been waiting for....the DOUCHIEST WSOP WINNER PHOTO EVER CONTEST!

wsop-douche

Thanks for capturing the moment Flipchip!

One Final FU

According to this, George W Bush and his right wing "we'll tell you what you can do with your own money in the privacy of your home" asshole administration want to give online poker players one final "FUCK YOU" before he leaves office.

The UIGEA is LAW people. It's not so easy to get a federal law overturned. It's not an executive order that can be banished with the wave of an Obama pen. Once the rules of enforcement are set, it will take a lot of money, effort and time to get them fixed. It's probably inevitable that they are eventually fixed, but I wouldn't hold my breath if I were you.

Monday, November 10, 2008

Pokersite.org

The following is a paid review for Pokersite.org.


Pokersite.org offers poker site rankings and reviews of poker rooms worldwide. They offer unbiased reviews based on a variety of factors. If you see a review you like you can click on the link to be taken directly to the site you're interested in.

Pokersite.org offers specialized rankings depending on where you live, as well as rankings based on the type of player you are. The site also offers content sections for poker strategy, games, tournaments and players, down to a section with rules and history for new players.

Poker Strategy Videos seem like the most poplular way to learn poker these days, and Pokersite.org offers them along with dozens of articles written by online poker pros with more advanced poker strategy.

The rankings and reviews section of the site lets you select poker rooms based on six different criteria, including Bonuses, Customer Service, Game Selection, Software Ratings, VIP Programs and Easiest to Beat.

I've never seen a site that evaluates the different poker sites based on how easy they are to beat. Since winning is the most important factor for most people it's a great idea for sorting poker rooms. If you play a lot of hands, I bet the comparisons of VIP programs is especially interesting to you.

If you're checking out some new or different poker rooms, Pokersite.org might be a place you can use to evaluate them how you like.

Wednesday, November 05, 2008

To My Coworker

"Fifty Bucks little man. Put that shit in my hand. Nong nong nonga-nonga nong nong."

Tuesday, November 04, 2008

Saturday, November 01, 2008

Google MADNESS

Suddenly a hundred links to my blog, (many of them very old posts, some of them new posts with very old links elsewhere on the page) get hit in my automated Google Blog Search.

Something is going on with the Juggernaut, but I have no idea what it is.